Which lenders do soft search DIP

Hi there

I'm just wondering if anybody can provide details of which lenders carry out soft searches when doing a Decision in Principle.

I understand of the big lenders Halifax does, but not many others.

Which lenders are known to do soft searches?

Many thanks
J

Replies

• kingstreetkingstreet Forumite
    37K Posts
    Tenth Anniversary 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    As a full/hard search is done at full application, what benefit do you derive from a soft search DIP?

It's about as much use as the proverbial chocolate fireguard.

Every time I hit submit on a Halifax full application, I cross my fingers and hope for the best that our decision in principle was actually worth something...
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • ACGACG Forumite
    21.7K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 10,000 Posts Name Dropper I've helped Parliament
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    Completely agree, decisions in principle are not exactly cast iron guarantees of a mortgage offer. Soft footprint decisions in principle are worth much less.

I wouldnt rely on either personally.
    I am a Mortgage Adviser
    You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a mortgage adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice.
  • edited 31 January 2015 at 6:32PM
    amnblogamnblog Forumite
    12K Posts
    Eighth Anniversary 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited 31 January 2015 at 6:32PM