Moving abroad, will keep uk based company job & bank account - can i get a tax cut?

Options
I'm moving to spain at the end of march. I work as an editor for a Uk based company & from home and as such will be keeping my current job.

I heard today that it might be possible that I can write to the tax man and get either a rebate / pay less tax. I'm paid via PAYE.. is this possible or nonsense? I'll be living abroad in spain for at least a year and will be there before the new tax year starts

If so, any idea which form etc i need to fill out?

Thanks

Sean

Comments

• Spidernick
    Spidernick Posts: 3,803 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    There are many variables, including how many days you will spend in the UK each year and how many work days as starters. You may become tax resident outside the UK and so eligible for a 'No Tax' code, but don't forget you'd be liable for Spanish taxes (and potentially they might want to tax things like employer pension contributions, that aren't taxed in the UK - unlikely but possible), so it's not a win/win. You also need to consider the social security aspect and whether you would be required to move to Spanish social security (which you probably wouldn't want to do) or if an A-1 would be required to keep you in the UK scheme.

Does your employer know what you are doing? Potentially this could cause problems for them around a 'Permanent Establishment' in Spain (which could have tax implications for the employer), an obligation to withhold Spanish taxes at source, etc. (with penalties for non-compliance). It can be a minefield, so if not discussed and cleared by your employer I would recommend you do this before taking the final step. Really if you were going to do this you should go out there on a proper expat package, as if not it could open up the proverbial can of worms.

Hope this helps.