A goal to work for... at last

Options
I am a long time lurker here and have been inspired to set ourselves a target to be mortgage free.

Bit of background...

We took out a mortgage of £115,000 in 2009 and now have just £32,000 to pay off. We are currently on a First Direct fee free two year deal (2.49%) which runs till Oct 2015. We can make as many overpayments as we like, which is ideal for our situation.

We want to clear the mortgage before DH's 60th birthday on Sept 2017 and save up for a camper van!

DH has a stable full time job and I have a complex income arrangement made up for some self employment and termly contracts for three different organisations. I am a teacher/tutor/lecturer.

We tend to live fairly frugally (I have never really moved on from 'studenthood'), cook from scratch every day, grow lots of our own fruit and veg, have chickens and our holidays tend to be camping ones in the UK.

I have had a very busy summer and am having a quiteish few weeks before Uni term starts again and am going to be looking through our finances to maximise our accounts etc.

Wish us luck..:beer:

Dozy Prawn

Comments

• kirstypark
    Options
    Good luck, dozy prawn - love the name!

We were doing great with our mortgage overpayments...till we bought a campervan. I think there should be a campervan moneysaving site now. :rotfl:
    mortgage 1 33,000. paid nov 2012 :D. mortgage 2 87,000 due 51,686.76 at july 2013, but then:new home and remortgage ... £101065.43:eek: now 74k
  • Secret_Saving_Squirrel
    Options
    Sounds familiar here too, I would like a camper van. Very good luck with your journey, you seem to be doing very well,

Squirrel x
    Paid off mortgage nine years early in 2013. Now picking and choosing our work to fit in with the rest of our lives!
    Still thrifty though, after all these years:D
  • muddywhitechicken
    Options
    Good luck!

No yearning for a campervan here but I want to know more about your chooks!