Diary of a DFW Aged 33 & 3/4

edited 28 July 2014 at 3:54PM in Debt Free Diaries
5 replies 678 views
EmilyTeeEmilyTee Forumite
56 Posts
edited 28 July 2014 at 3:54PM in Debt Free Diaries
Right new start.. new diary... new focus :D

I have been tackling my debt for 6 years my light bulb came when I lost my job just as the crunch hit and I couldn’t get another one for months, my balance was almost £30k, I worked a couple of hours as temp in a office, a full time waitress job and helped out in a bar until I found lower salary (but perm) job. I’ve since climbed back up the ladder slowly paying things off as I went, however I had a bit of a slip due to sliding into depression - queue weight gain, debt gain and “stuff” gain.. yes I’ve figured my depression ignites a need to surround myself in new stuff.. :o

I got my act together last month, but just as I realized the situation was about to go dyer again and I had no way of preventing it. I could kick myself, I’d paid off a massive chunk of debt and all my defaults bar one was settled and about to roll off my file.. :mad:

After a lot of soul searching, worrying, number crunching and stressing I made the decision to consolidate the last few bits of my debt. Not always the best solution I understand, but I’m lucky enough to have equity, a pretty solid job and the support of you wonderful people. It should go through on Friday leaving me with a debt balance of £16k

I guess some would say I’ve taken the easy option but I’ve done six years… six years on my own with barely a soul knowing other than you good people on here robbing peter to pay paul and finding money somewhere to make ends meet and I’m tired, I’m in a position where I want to live my life, I’ve been pulled about so much and so restricted the last 8 months and I just want to get my life back.

I could all being well, clear this loan according to the snowball by 21st April 2016 as it allows over payments so I shall set that as my debt free date….