PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Birthday present for a 93 year old lady

Options
My Aunt is in a rest home and will be 93 soon I am at a loss what to get for her. Last year I got a her a magazine subscription and also her wordsearch which I will keep on. She reads books which I get from the charity shops for her. She uses a frame and needs help getting up so she is not very mobile. Any sugestions would be most welcome.

Comments

• whitewing
    whitewing Posts: 11,852 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Could you get her some book sets from the book people? They are quite reasonably priced and some good authors.
    :heartsmil When you find people who not only tolerate your quirks but celebrate them with glad cries of "Me too!" be sure to cherish them. Because these weirdos are your true family.
  • happydays89
    happydays89 Posts: 304 Forumite
    Options
    Maybe you could make up a pamper hamper....nice basket filled with her favourite toiletries,a few choccy treats and a book.
  • Lilyplonk
    Lilyplonk Posts: 1,145 Forumite
    Options
    Does she have any favourite biscuits or other kind of 'nibbly treat'?

Could you recreate a very nice 'Afternoon Tea' for her and a couple of close relatives in her bedroom at the Rest Home? Some favourite dainty sandwiches and tiny cakes that will 'tempt/tickle' the taste-buds without overpowering them.