Economy Broadband for Low Income Households

in Campaigns Corner
17 replies 2.8K views
I am new to the forum and am writing my first post about a campaign that maybe MSE would like to consider. If not MSE then maybe there are people out there who know all about social media and organising campaigns who could rally support. I am not good with twitter and facebook but thought I should at least put something on this forum.

I think there is a need to campaign for the government to ensure people with low incomes and those on benefits are able to access the internet. Gradually local authorities, businesses schools and just about every company are forcing people onto their online services.

Essentially local authorities among others are saving money and forcing the general public to pay for a phone line and broadband access to use their services. That is likely to be at least £25 / month. It is a cost many people cannot afford. It could be seen that while saving money the local authority is passing its costs to members of the public who will have higher outgoings!

With the push to get essential public services online the government should ensure that vulnerable people, workers on low incomes and those on benefits have access by regulating providers of phone lines and broadband so that there is an economy tariff. It could be a phone line and broadband access at a special low rate.

I find it hard to believe that Age Concern, the CAB, Shelter, Mind and many other organisations working with vulnerable people have not been campaigning hard and lobbying the government for better regulation to ensure there is an affordable package for low income households.

It seems that internet access is becoming an essential service and yet many will struggle to pay for such services. Surely if the government and local authorities are forcing people onto internet based interfaces then they should also be ensuring providers of phone-lines and broadband have an economy tariff.