PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

anyone else boil potatoes in the oven?

Options
I'm a lazy cook and won't put anything on the hob because I don't want to watch it
Everything goes in the oven including potatoes and veg in seperate casserole pots
I usually put 3/4 full with boiling water from the kettle and also 10 minutes in microwave to bring to boil and then just on the bottom shelf for 30 mins while the meat cooks

I want to cut out the microwave part
Anyone else boil veg in the oven/casserole dish and give me an idea of how long to put them in for (same with potatoes)
When will the "Edit" and "Quote" button get fixed on the mobile web interface?

Comments

• Mojisola
    Mojisola Posts: 35,559 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    If you use a steamer you don't have to watch it and you don't lose vitamins into the water.
  • DPJames
    DPJames Posts: 999 Forumite
    Options
    So 10 minutes in the microwave, and then 30 minutes in he oven. Is that right? 40 minutes?

Dude, seriously. Put them in a pan and boil for 10-15 minutes. It's really simple.
  • PasturesNew
    PasturesNew Posts: 70,698 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    I steam mine in a microwave steamer.... 5 mins, turn, 5 mins, turn, 3 mins (check ... and add another 2-3 mins if required).

Else I'd use an electric stackable steamer if I wanted to avoid pot watching.
  • meer53
    meer53 Posts: 10,217 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Who stands watching boiling veg ? Once they're simmering, thats it until they're done. It takes much longer doing it your way !
  • redfox