MSE News: New mortgage rules: How do they affect you?

Potential home buyers who want a mortgage will have to have their finances scrutinised more closely from tomorrow
Read the full story:

New mortgage rules: How do they affect you?

OfficialStamp.gif

Click reply below to discuss. If you haven’t already, join the forum to reply. If you aren’t sure how it all works, read our New to Forum? Intro Guide.

Comments

• amnblog
    amnblog Posts: 12,437 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    They will affect everyone.
    I am a Mortgage Broker

You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Broker, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice.
  • Pincher
    Pincher Posts: 6,552 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    They might as well demand that all brides should be virgins, and all cucumbers must be straight.

While we are at it, why don't we get an attendance card for church/temple/synagogue/mosque? Your priest will do an EPC (Ethical Performance Certificate), renewable every ten years.
  • Leon_W
    Leon_W Posts: 1,813 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker First Anniversary
    The rules are absolutely fine. It's the lenders interpretation of them that's the problem. They have gone WAAAAAAY over the top.
  • Consumerist
    Consumerist Posts: 6,310 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Long overdue.

It's a sad reflection on us Brits that we have to rely on lenders to make borrowers behave responsibly.

Mortgage defaults cost us all so reducing them has be to everyone's advantage.
    >:)Warning: In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king.
  • katejo
    katejo Posts: 3,813 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Long overdue.