We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

pension confusion

Options
I have three pensions from previous jobs, one with Siemens, and two smaller ones with standard life.
I had to take the maximum draw down from each to pay the bills etc when I was made redundant in 2005.
I don't know the exact current value of them now but I get an annuity of £125,£26 and £6.....yes,£6 a month.:rotfl: and the two small ones with standard life never increase.
I am now 66 and have retired due to ill health.
My question is, will the new pension rules ever allow me to take some or all of the cash to spend now before I shuffle off.:eek:
Anyone?;)

Comments

• ExMugPunter
    Options
    I am not an expert, but I think that you are stuck with what you have I am afraid.

It sounds like you have already used your pension savings to buy the annuities. Therefore in effect, you don't have a pension pot anymore - You have traded it in for an agreement for them to pay you those amounts each month.
  • kidmugsy
    kidmugsy Posts: 12,709 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    Cheer up, at least you got the superior annuity rates available in 2005.
    Free the dunston one next time too.
  • atush
    atush Posts: 18,731 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    You don't have 3 pensions any longer, you spent those 3 pensions buying 3 annuities.

So no, the new rules don't affect you.
  • catford
    catford Posts: 1,114 Forumite
    Options
    atush wrote: »
    You don't have 3 pensions any longer, you spent those 3 pensions buying 3 annuities.

So no, the new rules don't affect you.