We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Self employment after early retirement - advice please...

Options
I am a retired teacher - I will be 61 this coming August (2014).
I have a final salary pension which is tied to CPI through the Teachers' Pension Scheme.
I now have several different types of paid activity which I undertake - most of which are as a contracted employee - so they are subject tp normal PAYE arrangements. In addition I am now subscribed to a pension scheme in each case. In addition to these I also do some freelance work for which I am paid gross - without deduction of tax.
What I would like to do is put as much as I am allowed into a pension pot in order to build up some additional pension entitlement - and with this in mind I have some specific questions - if anyone can offer any advice I would be grateful:
1. In 2013-14 I received around £4k in direct untaxed payments for work I did. Am I still able to use some or all of this to pay into a pension pot? If not then can I do this for 2014-15?
2. My wife is a childminder who earns a very low amount of profit and so pays only a small amount of tax - she does not have a pension as she has been self employed for the last 20 years. Can some or all of her earnings be put into a pension pot?
3. Is there a cheap and simple way to set up pension pots for each of us?
Many thanks

Comments

• kidmugsy
    kidmugsy Posts: 12,709 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    … I am now subscribed to a pension scheme in each case. In addition to these I also do some freelance work for which I am paid gross - without deduction of tax.