Please note: The Auto-enrolment sub-board is now closed. If you have a question around pensions, please post in the Pensions, Annuities and Retirement Planning board.

Local government pension scheme

Options
Hi all.

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to pensions and I've been auto-enrolled into the LGPS. I'm not sure I know how it works.

From their website:
Your pension will build up in a new way from April 2014.

The LGPS 2014 will remain a defined benefit scheme from April 2014. A defined benefit scheme means that your pension will continue to be worked out using a set formula.

However, from 1 April 2014 that formula will be different because the Scheme changes from a final salary scheme to a career average scheme:

For each year in the new scheme, you will build up a pension based on your pensionable pay in that year.
For each scheme year that you are a member, a pension equal to a 49th of your pensionable pay will be added to your pension account.
Inflation increases will be added to ensure that your pension account keeps up with the cost of living.

Let's say I earn £12,000 a year and this doesn't change for the next 25 years. £55 is taken from my wage each month and my employer also puts in £55. Then at the end of the year, 1/49th of my annual salary is also added to the pot.

My pot after one year should be (£110 x 12) + (£12,000 / 49) = £1565.
And after 25 years it should be no less than £39122.

These are all rough numbers, obviously, I just wanted to check I had the maths right.

As an aside, I'm not sure whether this type of pension is affected by the recent budget announcement. Will I be able to take a defined benefit scheme as one big lump sum at the end?

Comments

• dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,379 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options