Aging relative - pension, ISA, investment advice please

Options
My aunt, who we look after, has in the last 18 months taken it upon herself to sort out a new will, arrange a funeral and nominate myself as PoA. All good and very sensible.:)

The other day she gave me a couple of carrier bags full of correspondence to sort out and look after. This process has revealed that she is sitting on a number of investments / asset management products (BNY Mellon, Aberdeen, Schroeder, Jupiter) and a few cash ISAs. These add up to a rather substantial amount, in excess of £100K. As far as I can tell, and I am no expert, any profits are instantly ploughed back into the funds and the ISAs are making about 2%.

She has a very healthy bank balance and a few pensions that pay about the same in every month to her current account as goes out.

So this makes me think a few things, and I would be happy for any advice.

What is currently the point of the investments, ISAs etc other than to pay out to the estate on her passing? Will they pay to the estate? How can we find out? Would she be better consolidating the lot in to a couple of simple ISAs for example to make the process of estate distribution easier when the time comes?

Thanks for any advice.
Mortgage Due to Start April 2015 - £165,000
Over payment Goal £3,000pa (£250/month)

Comments

• dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,617 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    What is currently the point of the investments, ISAs etc other than to pay out to the estate on her passing?

That is for her to decide. Maybe she isnt ready to give it away. Maybe it is rainy day money. Maybe there isnt an IHT issue to worry about.
    Will they pay to the estate?

Whether they pay out inside or outside of the estate or at all will depend on what they are.
    How can we find out?

Research and analysis on a DIY basis or an adviser if you dont want to DIY.