Are my pension contributions enough??

Options
I previously read a comment from Martin saying at age 30 you should be saving 12% of your wages towards a pension/ retirement.

I currently pay 6.5% into my local council pension which is matched by my employer.

My question is, with my work matching does this count as the 12% or should I be aiming to save an additional 5.5% into an ISA or equivalent??

I am currently 28 (I have been paying into my pension for 6 years), have a mortgage and hardly any savings as at the moment the cost of living matches my wages. I do not have a partner but rent my spare room out (rent currently going to pay off my CC). I really don’t want to be 68 before I can even consider retiring!! And would like to be money savvy as early as possible.

Any advise/ tips would be appreciated!
No longer Debt free
EF - £525.27/£1000 New York £0/£1500
SCC- £3000 SL overpayment £2500 M+D - £4000

Comments

• dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,626 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    I previously read a comment from Martin saying at age 30 you should be saving 12% of your wages towards a pension/ retirement.

I doubt Martin would say anything so specific as that. The amount you should pay should be fine tuned to your circumstances, risk profile, capacity for loss, when you want to retire, how much etc.

It is more likely he used the a general guide to get you thinking of the sort of figure you should pay which is half your age as a percentage. It is a crude quick and dirty figure that is more designed to get people thinking of realistic amounts rather than being your actual figure.
    I currently pay 6.5% into my local council pension which is matched by my employer.

If you are in the LGPS then it works differently to that. The percentage guide is for money purchase schemes (such as personal pensions). Not occupational defined benefit schemes.