Is this normal?

Options
Have lurked on the site but this is my first time posting.

OH and I got into financial difficulties in 2004/5. Originally set up a DMP with Payplan in late 2005. OH became seriously ill in 2006 and has been unable to work since. Payplan were unable to continue with our DMP due to insufficient money to make more than token payments so we have been doing a self managed plan since then.

We have several creditors and still owe about £48,000. We have been making small payments each month for the last few years. All of the defaults apart from 1 have fallen off our credit report (the last one should fall off later this year).

However over the last 3/4 months several of our debts have been sold on, mostly to Arrow Global and 1 to 1st Credit. On some we were told to stop making payments and we would be contacted by the new company. Is this normal?

As well some companies we have been paying for years with very little contact have now started to request 6 monthly reviews on our debts. Our circumstances have not changed and most are happy to carry on accepting the amount we are paying. I wondered if anyone had any ideas why they have started to do this.
Weight loss since 6/01/2014: 70lb

Comments

• National_Debtline
    National_Debtline Posts: 7,998 Organisation Representative
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Hello there,

Debts often get sold on and 'passed around the houses'. It's quite normal. The general approach if you are contacted by these new companies would be to submit a financial statement and make a reasonable offer of payment. Given the information within your post it appears that a token payment would be the way to go.

What type of debts are they? I'm assuming we're talking credit debts here - but I just wanted to check.

Also, do you own a property, have you other assets?

Best wishes,

David @ NDL.