MSE News: Filing a tax return? Avoid self-assessment copycat sites

"If you're filing a self-assessment tax form, avoid sites that charge up to £1,000 when you can do it yourself for free..."
Read the full story:

Filing a tax return? Avoid self-assessment copycat sites

OfficialStamp.gif

Click reply below to discuss. If you haven’t already, join the forum to reply. If you aren’t sure how it all works, read our New to Forum? Intro Guide.

Comments

• I have just had a look at taxreturngateway.com and it quite clearly states it has nothing to do with HMRC and actually gives a link to the hmrc website.

If people use any website without properly reading what is in front of them, then they are asking for trouble.

However, I do think these types of sites should be banned.
  • Regshoe
    Regshoe Posts: 237 Forumite
    Agreed - it seems pretty clear to me who they are. Ok, I'm an accountant who regularly uses the HMRC portal, but even so if you spend even 15 seconds reading the home page it is obvious who they are.

That said they do sound overly expensive - starting at £150.00 just to 'check' the return after having the client fill it in, this is more like what I'd charge if I'd filled it in for them and would include a face to face meeting.

Plus £100 for registration for self assessment? It looks like they just plug the information directly into the HMRC website, even if they had to manually key the information that sort of charge is ridiculous and something I would do for no extra charge if I was filing a Self Assessment for a client. I struggle to see what value they are adding to this process.
  • Surely if they are using the initals HMRC this would be illegal, we got caught but then submitted it to the REAL HMRC so when they (HMRCgateway) did surely they were posting a repeat submission, and incur no cost.
    I know we should have read the home page but when you have done it so many times you take it for granted it is so like the official page.