Capital Allowances and computer hardware

Options
I'm an online manager and so I've bought a couple of pieces of computer equipment (iPad and desktop). I was going to just claim them under expenses but I'm not sure if they should go under 'Capital Allowances' too or instead of. I actually get given notebooks when I work on contracts but I need my own computer equipment too.

Can I add it t both sections or is it a case of either / or?

thanks

Comments

• zygurat789
    zygurat789 Posts: 4,263 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    scrub wrote: »
    I'm an online manager and so I've bought a couple of pieces of computer equipment (iPad and desktop). I was going to just claim them under expenses but I'm not sure if they should go under 'Capital Allowances' too or instead of. I actually get given notebooks when I work on contracts but I need my own computer equipment too.

Can I add it t both sections or is it a case of either / or?

thanks

If you claim it on expenses your expenditure would be nil, to claim capital allowances on the value would be fraud.
    The only thing that is constant is change.
  • scrub
    scrub Posts: 172 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    Oh! I thought I was doing the right thing as capital allowances. Phew! I don't understand why but at least I know I'm doing the right thing now!
  • zygurat789
    zygurat789 Posts: 4,263 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    scrub wrote: »
    Oh! I thought I was doing the right thing as capital allowances. Phew! I don't understand why but at least I know I'm doing the right thing now!

Actually I was being serious, in my experience HMRC operate ignorem neminem excusat fairly strictly.
    The only thing that is constant is change.
  • Trying_to_be_good
    Options
    Did you mean that you can claim it on expenses from one of your contracts, or that you planned to claim it as a business expense?