New to comping...a few questions.

Options
Hi all,

As you can all see i'm very new to comping (I've only been doing it for a few weeks) and I was just wondering the best way to check if I have one a particular comp. Currently I've been logging all my comp entries in a book with the end date next to them then when the comp has finished I've been searching on mse for that particular comp then searching tw/fb or blogs etc to see if I've been successful. This however has been taking me forever to do and I spend a good two hours of my day more or less checking previous comps to see if i've won.

So, I'm thinking that there must be a simpler way of doing it. Can anyone advise me if there is.

Also, does anyone use a spreadsheet or a programme to keep track of comps entered by end date? I'd love to know how to log them using this but don't have the technical know how to work out how to do it.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• purple_x
    purple_x Posts: 681 Forumite
    Options
    If you win something you will usually get a WEM (winning email) or a WTC (winning telephone call)
    Or the prize will just turn up.

On twitter you are either mentioned in a tweet or send a DM.
    If you have your twitter settings set up for it you will receive an email to notify you that you have been mentioned or DM'd.

On facebook you will be messaged or tagged.

If you want to search your name you can use 'social searcher'
    http://www.social-searcher.com/
    Just type in your name and 'winner' or 'congratulations'

Hope that helps.
  • StrayCat
    StrayCat Posts: 551 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Combo Breaker
    Options
    If you enter competitions on Facebook I would suggest joining this group https://www.facebook.com/groups/315412321841373/
    The people there post winning announcements that they spot and tag people if they have won something.