What % contribution should I make?

Options
abundant1972
abundant1972 Posts: 1,663 Forumite
Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Photogenic
Hi everyone...

I'm new to the pensions forum, and looking to maximise what money I do have.

I'm 40, work 30 hours in the NHS [Gross £23,004 p/a]
I have 3 years in the NHS scheme
Currently I pay 9% contributions and the NHS pays 14%

I was wondering what I would need to plough in to get a half decent pension as I feel I should have started years ago...

I still rent (don't own any property) and have £7K debt (all at 0% interest, and on a DMP).

I probably have £250 spare income after my debt payments (£375 p/m) have gone out.

I could plough it into debt clearance - but as it's 0% it seemed better to maybe use some of it to increase my pension as that is taken out from my wages before the tax man gets it!

I'm curious as to what % of their gross wage others are paying...

Many thanks
DFD = August 2027 @ £250/month
Follow your heart & be true to yourself always
My life is full of abundance and prosperity
NST Feb: Food & Spends = £216.51 / £290.00 NSD = 1 /15
Be kind - Eat well - Exercise - Be mindful

Comments

• Spirit_2
    Spirit_2 Posts: 5,546 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    I pay 12.3% standard contribution, and buy added years at another 9%. My employer pays 14%.
  • PuzzledDave
    Options
    Disclaimer: I'm certainly no financial advisor.. take all this with a pinch of salt.

It seems to me you need to think about what you want - then work backwards to see if you can fund it. Perhaps start with:

1) When you retire, where do you plan to live ? Carry on renting for as long as you can live at home or will you buy a home between now and then ?

2) At what age do you want to retire ?

3) How much do you want to live on ?

From there, using the projections in your last annual pension statement you could perhaps have a better idea as to what to work towards.