Moving a Royal Mail pension

Options
Ive been working for Royal Mail for 22 years and I want to move my pension because of whats going on at the moment.
Is it possible?

Cheers

Comments

• molerat
    molerat Posts: 31,868 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    edited 30 September 2013 at 8:02PM
    Options
    [STRIKE]Highly unlikely that you would[/STRIKE] You will not find an IFA who will sign off the transfer of a gold plated pension into something which will undoubtedly be inferior. Why do you think Mr Mug Taxpayer had to take over responsibility for the pension scheme before RM was sold off ?
  • quotememiserable
    Options
    I agree, it would be exceptionally good financial sense to leave it just where it is.
  • somethingcorporate
    Options
    :D I thank you on behalf of all tax-payers to transfer it somewhere, no anywhere else!

Seriously, you could not make a worse financial decision than what you are contemplating. Your current pension is gold-plated with bells and whistles on!
    Thinking critically since 1996....
  • BobQ
    BobQ Posts: 11,181 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    suitable69 wrote: »
    Ive been working for Royal Mail for 22 years and I want to move my pension because of whats going on at the moment.
    Is it possible?

Cheers

Even if it were, what are you hoping to achieve by doing this? Some kind of protest?

Ignore the RM brand, you have a long standing pension with a pension fund that the Government has agreed to underwrite come what may and guarantee you will get your pension paid in full. Do you realise how lucky you are?
    Few people are capable of expressing with equanimity opinions which differ from the prejudices of their social environment. Most people are incapable of forming such opinions.
  • mania112
    mania112 Posts: 1,981 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Is it possible?