Help-To-Buy Three Months Early: Any takers?

Options

Comments

• kingstreet
    kingstreet Posts: 38,784 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • tasty_snacks
    Options
    Wait for the dust to settle on this one and for lenders to drip onto the market. I think the majority of lenders have been caught on the hop.

Provided the rates are sensible, the wife and I will be taking full advantage of H2B - MG, though it still seems as though we have to wait until January to actually complete on any purchase.
  • ItsyBitsySpider
    Options
    Please correct me if I am wrong.

From the buyer's perspective:
    1. Help to buy- phase 2 is just like a normal mortgage product offering LTV of 95% but the interest rate would be less than the regular non-help-to-buy 95% LTV products available in the market at the moment. There is no interest free loan for the buyer from the government.
    2. The lenders would have to fulfill a stricter credit history criteria to offer anything on this scheme. The criteria would be stricter as compared to the usual 95% LTV products available in the market.
    3. It is called help to buy as the government has provided insurance for these relatively low interest rate 95% LTV mortgages for which it will charge the lender a certain fee, not exactly known yet. As a result a help to buy 95% LTV mortgage may be a bit more expensive than the regular 90% LTV but would have an interest rate lower than the regular 95% mortgages available right now.
  • amnblog
    amnblog Posts: 12,456 Forumite
    Options