To NEST or not to NEST

Options
Hi,

Sorry to piggy back off this last post but I have a similar question.

I'm 32 and don't have a pension and it is keeping me awake at night. I am a Freelancer and although I usually am in work, for the last 10 years I have taken a few breaks (to go travelling and have a baby).

The company I frequently work for has been enrolled in the NEST scheme. But I am on intermittently employed by them - can I still join?

So my question is - should I stick with NEST and start making contributions? If so, how much do I need to pay in to try to catch up with my lost years? Can I make a one off lump sum payment into any schemes? Or should I look for a Private Pension scheme?

Many Thanks in advance.

Comments

• dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,440 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    If the company say you are eligible to join and get the employer contribution then do so. It is "free" money.
    If so, how much do I need to pay in to try to catch up with my lost years?

You need to start backwards.

How much do you want in retirement? Then how much lump sum is needed to pay that amount, then how much do you need to put aside each month to build up that lump sum using sensible growth rates and assumptions for inflation.
    Can I make a one off lump sum payment into any schemes?

Most pension plans allow ad hoc payments.
    Or should I look for a Private Pension scheme?

If you want to do an ad hoc payment in addition to the regular via next then that may well need to be the case.
    I am an Independent Financial Adviser (IFA). The comments I make are just my opinion and are for discussion purposes only. They are not financial advice and you should not treat them as such. If you feel an area discussed may be relevant to you, then please seek advice from an Independent Financial Adviser local to you.
  • GemQuin
    GemQuin Posts: 47 Forumite
    Options
    Hi and thanks.