Time to get started...

Options
Hi everyone,

I've been browsing the MFW boards for a few weeks now, wondering whether to start my own posts... and this morning I've finally decided to go for it.

A bit about me... I'm a part-time teacher but I have some websites which provide additional income. From September, I will be reducing my teaching hours further to give me more time to work on the sites.

I am married to a lovely lady and we have a wonderful little boy (17 months). We've been living in our house since September 2006 and have been overpaying the mortgage every month since the start... with a total of £10,100 overpaid so far.

Original Balance - £142,530.00
Current Balance - £107,663.10

Original End Date - August 2031
Current End Date - May 2027

I'm 35 now, so I'd love to be able to pay off the mortgage by my early to mid-40s if possible, but I know that's going to be pushing it a bit.

I used to be quite naughty and buy things impulsively on a credit card but I've been trying really hard over the past six months and am now much more cautious. This year, I've been able to clear my overdrafts and credit card which is why I now want to start chipping away at the mortgage even more.

Any tips / help / encouragement that you can provide will be really appreciated!

Thanks,

Mr T :cool2:

Comments

• cod3
    cod3 Posts: 805 Forumite
    First Anniversary Mortgage-free Glee! Combo Breaker Name Dropper
    Options
    Hi Mr T :)

Congratulations on clearing your unsecured debt and taking a big chunk off your mortgage.

My top tip would be to make sure you have an emergency fund (if you don't have one already)
  • Mr_Teacher
    Mr_Teacher Posts: 16 Forumite
    Options
    Thanks cod3... my emergency fund is slowly building. Now that I'm getting increasingly reliant on my (variable) income from the websites, I'm trying to put more into that, but it's still not as large as I'd like.