Credit Problems !!!!

Options
Hi,

I have many questions and was not sure which forum to post on but hopefully this one is right :-)
In 2003 I got into quite a bit of debt- I ended up going to a private company called Harrington Brooks who advised they could negotiate with all my debtors for a fee and sort out my debts- what followed was a year nightmare with me dealing directly with all the companies eventually and having 3defaults on my credit report.(Please anyone reading thsi do NOT ever use them!)
All these debts are cleared but I feel so trapped by my credit file-
1 I work in a bank and am not sure if i can change jobs as banks now credit check new employees. Someone advised me that they only credit check if you are bankrupt- can anyone shed some light on this? I am not so sure.
2 I incurred £2652 charges on my account during this time- I would like to claim this back but can;t open a parachute account as my credit rating is so bad. I found a posting on this website saying citibank accept people with bad credit history but even they refused!
3 I would lke to move flat but cannot move as all letting agencies credit check you nefore you become a tennent and feel I will never get a mortgage.

I feel like my life is just on pause until 5 years time when these defaults clear

In the past year my earnigns have increased doble to £40,000 yet and I have no more debt problems but I still am having so much hassle dealing with my financial past - sorry for ranting but I just feel so trapped - and I am out of debt!!!

Thanks for Listening/Reading

any advice would be a big help :-)

a xx

Comments

• k1mmie
    k1mmie Posts: 833 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    ashesb wrote: »
    Hi,

I have many questions and was not sure which forum to post on but hopefully this one is right :-)