River of Bones - Horror Thriller for James Herbert Fans - Free on Kindle today

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Freebies (no spend required)
1 reply 588 views
stevedanstevedan Forumite
410 Posts
100 Posts
✭✭
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Freebies (no spend required)
I also came across 'River of Bones' by Jodi Cleghorn. Looks like a classy horror thriller - good for Stephen King or James Herbert fans.

It’s October 1974 and all is not well in the town of Elyora.

First the clocks stop.

And men in shiny suits turn up offering payment for the inconvenience.

Then the phone lines stop working.

And finally, the power goes out.

The trouble is, no one comes to explain that.

Dorothy Briggs, a local old lady, is disturbed by a blast of music and drawn towards the nearby river where she hears a voice - “You murdered my son, Dorothy Briggs” - and crumples to the floor.

Fast forward to December 2012.

Jo, Benny and Hal, members of the band Faunabate, have no idea what they’re in for when their car suddenly breaks down on the way to their first gig.

Their nearest town?

Elyora.

Upon arrival it quickly becomes clear that this is not your normal town.

Why are all the magazines dated at 1974?

Why have all of their clocks stopped?

And where exactly have all the people gone?

There are some towns you don't ever want to visit.

And Elyora is one of them.

Because not everyone gets out alive...

'River of Bones' is a fast-paced supernatural thriller perfect for fans of James Herbert and Stephen King. It was short-listed for an Aurealis Award in 2012.

'A chilling read that will keep you awake at nights.' - Robert Foster, best-selling author of 'The Lunar Code'.

Replies

This discussion has been closed.
Latest MSE News and Guides

Top savings accounts

Up to 1.7% fixed or 0.6% easy access

MSE Guides

24 craft beers for £26 delivered

Flavourly newbies only (norm £70ish)

MSE Deals