Should "Carer's Allowance" be claimed?

Options
I have a friend who's a full time carer for a person who receives DLA.

I have advised them that they can claim "Carer's Allowance" (their circumstances fit all the criteria).

They are concerned that if they submit a claim for "Carer's Allowance" it will affect the life time DLA that the person they care for claims (there are no other overlapping benefits). In particular it could bring forward (from circa OCT 2015) their transfer to PIP and all the associated problems involved.

Does anyone think there’s any foundation for their concerns or am I right in advising them to submit a claim for “Carer’s Allowance”?

Comments

• diamond_sky
    Options
    I'm no expert but from experience with a friend's family, the benefits shouldn't affect each other....can understand your friend's fears but I can't see how they would impact on each other.
  • simpywimpy
    simpywimpy Posts: 2,384 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Again from experience, it is totally separate and doesn't make the DLA be re examined any quicker.
  • rogerblack
    rogerblack Posts: 9,446 Forumite
    Options
    Depending on what other benefits they claim - a claim for carers allowance may reduce their benefit.
    For example, if they are entitled to the severe disability premium on ESA - they would not be able to claim this if someone claims CA for them.
  • Uglymug
    Uglymug Posts: 165 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    Many thanks for all your replies, they’re much appreciated.

No other benefit is being claimed. The only concern is that if a new claim for “Carer’s allowance” is submitted then this could be deemed as a change in circumstances for the person claiming DLA.