Forum Home» Green & Ethical MoneySaving

Unexpected things that can be composted - Page 2

New Post Advanced Search
Important update! We have recently reviewed and updated our Forum Rules and FAQs. Please take the time to familiarise yourself with the latest version.

Unexpected things that can be composted

edited 26 March 2013 at 9:15PM in Green & Ethical MoneySaving
19 replies 14.8K views
2»

Replies

• building_with_legobuilding_with_lego Forumite
    2.6K posts
    Tenth Anniversary 1,000 Posts I've been Money Tipped!
    ✭✭✭✭
    The cotton nappies I used for my two children composted away to just the thread binding within five weeks :D
    They call me Dr Worm... I'm interested in things; I'm not a real doctor but I am a real worm. :grin:
  • kingmonkeykingmonkey Forumite
    846 posts
    On the theme of nappies and human waste like dust from vacuum cleaners... you could compost your faeces. I mean you have no problem composting chicken or cow faeces.
  • But that requires a compost toilet. People like me who live in rented homes can't just install one! (If I owned my own house, however, it would be a different story...)
  • JJ72_2JJ72_2 Forumite
    1 posts
    I've only had my bins less than a year, am quite excited about the results. I haven't even dared open either at the bottom in case I'm disappointed. I've never turned or mixed any of it up though, I just put stuff in the top and figure that the stuff at the bottom will be what I pull out and use. I do try and spread stuff out and not have too much of one thing in either bin. They're both about 4ft tall and are nearly full so it's too late to turn the stuff at the bottom. Should I be turning it next time I put stuff in there?

Hiya,

In answer to your question, Yes, you should be turning the contents, this is needed to mix up the items and aerate the compost.