We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

what would you do???

Options
i have been paying my ex boyfriends bill for a couple years at £10 month - he bought me a 3piece suite and used his first name and my last name for the account but never paid so it got sent to national debt recovery ltd - every now and then they put £12 charge on saying they havent received the money even though it was sent in good time, but, they wont discuss this with me as im not the original debtor but, im scared to reveal why so i keep sending the cheques - there is still £200 to pay and i seem to not be getting down at all...........

any advice please?

thanks

Comments

• itsarichmansworld
    Options
    If its not yours why are you paying?

Sorry I am a bit confused... Did you ex pay anything to it at all.

If its not in your name surely they cant persue you for it?
    Isn't the knowledge that comes from experience more valuable than the knowledge that doesn't?
  • immoral_angeluk
    immoral_angeluk Posts: 24,506 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    If it's not in your name then I'd stop paying. Do you have a forwarding address you can give them for your ex?
    Total 'Failed Business' Debt £29,043
    Que sera, sera. <3
  • magoogy
    magoogy Posts: 2,961 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    the reason i paid was because he was using my address and my last name for the goods - he made a few payments and then when we split he stopped but, i have the goods and i allowed him to use my last name so im scared because i will be held accountable for fraud.....