We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

homecare new career questions and immunisation

Options
Hi,

Can anyone tell me if it is legal requirement to have jabs before working in homecare? I noticed on an application form it said make sure you take proof of immunisation before the interview.

Also, does anyone have any feedback on this kind of work? I have always wanted to do homecare, but I am also a bit wary as I've read some horror stories about some agencies...

Thanks,
K

Comments

• 10yeargoals
    Options
    Hi I'm a homecarer in London and I've been doing it for about 14 months now. A few tips:

-If you live in London don't cross more than 2 fare zones to do your job you will be broke if you buy a travel card

-Homecare is a part time job at best. You will be out for full time for part time hours/pay there isn't much you can do about that

-This is a bit advanced but ask if your agency gets their referrals directly from social services. It means that they have a lot more jobs available than an agency that sub contracts or get private referrals. More available jobs means more money

-Dont travel between clients for longer than you are working at the clients. For example if you have to work at Mrs A house for 30 minutes but you have to travel for an hour then it isn't worth your time because in that time you could work with 2 clients closer to you which means more money

- If the travel cost is higher than the wage you will receive for working with the client then don't do it you will be spending money you technically don't have

- An agency that will pay you for travel between your clients even if you are using public transport is an agency you should hold on to