Please Help, letter I don't understand!

Options
I get so annoyed with Pensions they seem to use words that 'normal' people don't understand. Given that I'm an Accountant I expect to be able to understand but still get lost. Today I've received a letter regarding a pension i had with a Previous employer and I don't understand a word of it - can anyone help?

Dear Mrs ********,

Company Pension scheme with *********

I am writing to you in connection with your membership of the above pension scheme. The scheme established by your former employer has given notice to the trustee and Friends Life that they wish to wind up the scheme.

I am pleased to confirm that a deferred annuity contract has been purchased on your behalf. This is written in your own name and is no longer subject to the scheme trust. The deferred annuity will retain the above policy number and will retain original policy provisions. Except as stated in the endorsement the terms and conditions remain unchanged.

Please note that because of statutory requirements you are not permitted to assign your entitlement to these benefits to any other party or attempt to use these benefits as a security for a loan.

For you reference I include:

' statement of investment
' Illustration of transfer value
' Illustration of projected benefits
' discretionary trust for pension policies (see note (ii))
' tax free lump sum statement (see note (iv))

Notes:
(i) The MRP master policy has been endorsed to the effect annuity and is now held by Friends Life. If you require a copy at any time please contact Friends Life.

(ii) The discetionary trust document enables you to place your deferred annuity under trust (please note this is seperate from the original trust scheme). Without this, any lump sum payable under the policy on your death would form part of the estate and may be assessable for inheritance tax. If you wish to use this option you should seek legal advice regarding it's suitability.