Equita Bailiffs - Advice needed urgently please

Options
Hi all,

I came home today to a hand delivered letter from an equita bailiff telling me he had attempted to call to possess my belongings and that he was calling again within 24 hours unless the debt was paid in full.

It stated on the letter that a payment plan/arrangement was no longer acceptable and that he would return to possess my belongings "even in your absence".

I tried calling the mobile number on the letter, left voicemails asking to be contacted to resolve the matter and arrange a payment plan (full or part) and I also text the number when I had no response from him; I have still not heard from him almost two hours later.

I am wondering if someone could advise me - is this the end of the line for me? Can I definitely not arrange a payment plan or is that a scare tactic? I am a student midwife and live alone with my daughter, not only do I not have a huge surplus income to pay them off in one lump sum but I am terrified of losing things that belong to us both that I will never afford to replace!

Really hoping someone knows what I can do, I am willing to negotiate a payment plan with them, but is it too late??

Sorry for the rushed appearance of this post - am quite shaken up!

Comments

• Giraffeseeker
    Options
    Hi Em,

A couple of questions:
    - What is the debt that Equita are collecting?
    - Have they got a CCJ?
    - Have you been paying anything to them?
    LBM:1/1/12
    Debts @ LBM:£43,546 :eek: Debts now: £9,486 :cool: 78% PAID
    Found YNAB 1/2/14 - the best thing EVER!
  • emyork87
    Options
    Hi,

Its a council tax debt that i thought i had resolved with the council directly, but apparently not.
    As far as I am aware there is no CCJ - the letter has no mention of any.
    And I have not been paying anything to them, but am more than willing to set up a plan.

Thanks very much for your response
  • hallowitch
    hallowitch Posts: 1,286 Forumite