Bankruptcy Help

Options
Hi all,
Firstly i am new to all of this and am looking for advice!
My partner needs to go bankrupt asap and we are wondering were we stand.
All the debts are in his name but we have a car which i mainly use,this is in my name,what would happen with this??
He is out of work at the minute although i work one day a week due to illness so most of our income is made up of benefits at the moment,what would he pay to go BR.?
Please could anyone advise on what is the best route to take.
many thanks lisa.

Comments

• IF
    IF Posts: 34,349 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    1979lisa wrote: »
    Hi all,
    Firstly i am new to all of this and am looking for advice!
    My partner needs to go bankrupt asap and we are wondering were we stand.
    All the debts are in his name but we have a car which i mainly use,this is in my name,what would happen with this??
    He is out of work at the minute although i work one day a week due to illness so most of our income is made up of benefits at the moment,what would he pay to go BR.?
    Please could anyone advise on what is the best route to take.
    many thanks lisa.

Hi lisa and Welcome to the BR board. If you are the owner of the car then in is safe.

£525 OR fees and £175 Court costs, total of £700.
    You can get the court costs waived if based on benefits, gross annual income and disposable income.

Court fee remission and forms.

Hope your boyfriend is going through one of the free debt charities for help listed below.

* Blue text on this forum usually signifies hyperlinks, click on the blue links below *

Main recommended sources of help:
    • National Debtline - Website: National Debtline Telephone: 0808 808 4000
    • Citizens Advice Bureau - Website: Citizens Advice or visit your local CAB centre (find nearest)
    • Consumer Credit Counselling Service - Website: CCCS Telephone: 0800 138 1111

Others:

For ‘essential’ BR info the ‘Look here first’ sticky by Fermi.