Need help to work out MFW date

I started my MFW journey in November 2011. Mortgage is due to end in February 2026 (in 165 months!), but I would really like to be Mortgage Free at least 4 years earlier.

I am not very good with spreadsheets and have a very simple Monthly Ingoing and Outgoings Excel spreadsheet which I use. I have taken a look at some spreasdsheets i.e. locoblades but it's just too complicated for me.

We have an Offset Mortgage with an interest rate of 4%. We have one current account and three savings accounts linked to our mortgage and interest is added once a month to the balance.

I have tried to create a simple spreadsheet to work out when I can become mortgage free - but just can't get my head around it :o.

Current mortgage balance is: £80,695.72 and roughly £225 a month is added as interest. I have tried dividing the balance by the number of months remaining (165) and I get = £489.06.

If I set up a spreadsheet using:
Current Balance - 489.06 + any monthly overpayments made = End Balance . . . . will this give me a rough estimation on when I will be able to be Mortgage Free?

Sorry if this doesn't make any sense, I am not good with spreadsheets and I just can't seem to figure out how I can work out when I will be mortgage free!

Comments

• financialbliss
    financialbliss Posts: 1,943 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Combo Breaker
    Hi sweetdaisy,

Currently doing car insurance, but spotted your thread. I've a spreadsheet linked from post #1 in my diary - see posts 534 and536:
    http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.php?t=572849

I'll try and have a closer look once I'm done with my car insurance!

Financial Bliss.
    Mortgage and debt free. Building up savings...
  • sweetdaisy
    sweetdaisy Posts: 1,249 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Hi sweetdaisy,