Noticed some changes? You can read all about the improvements we've made on the Forum in our latest announcement. We also have a new set of Forum rules so please take the time to give them a read and familiarise yourself.

Job offer overseas.....mortgage options

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Mortgages & Endowments
7 replies 1.8K views
E-HudE-Hud Forumite
6 Posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Mortgages & Endowments
Hello,

This is my first time posting, so please be gentle!!

I have been offered a job in Australia for 3 years starting in October this year, I need to give a response to my work by the end of this week.

I approched my mortgage lenders today (First Direct) asking about renting our property out for the duration of my tour, expecting to be informed of a rate hike or a admin fee, but they have flatly declined my request and now I need to look elsewhere for a mortgage......more stress!!

Does anyone know of any lenders that will allow me to rent my property on the same terms as the initial deal? Of course I will outline my situation at the start of the process. I have heard rumours that Nationwide & HSBC do this, is this correct?.......Does the mortgage now have to be a buy-to-let? I would say I am pretty clued up when it comes to mortgages but I never really envisaged this situation occurring! So my knowledge around this situation is not great!!

Our current status:

My salary would be around £56K a year and we would be living rent free, bill free in Oz (my work would cover this). My partner would not work out in Oz, she would probably study. We have one dependant of 3 years of age.

Our mortgage details: Our house is currently valued £164,000 and by the time of our departure we will owe sub £100,000 at a guess £99,000 so about a 60% LTV.

If anyone has been through this situation or can advise the best banks/building societys to approach I would be extremely grateful.

Many thanks for you time and I look forward to your responses.

Replies