Mystery Shopping Thread 23 *PLEASE READ THE OP FIRST**PLEASE NO CLIENT NAMES OR FEES

Options

Comments

• Boredupnorth
    Boredupnorth Posts: 1,014 Forumite
    Options
    I'm quite new to mystery shopping and only started this last tax year. I informed HMRC when I started and they sent me a tax return form for the previous tax year, which I sent completed online to state I hadnt earnt anything other than my usual PAYE job.

Obviously, I need to complete the form again for the tax year just ended, which will be the first tax year I have earnt additional money in. I just have a query about what is taxable and what I can offset against tax.

For example, if I a mystery shop which is for a meal for two in a restaurant. The fee is £5 and there is a reimbursment of up to £30 for the meal. If I spend £28 on the meal, then I would pay tax on £33 and I am not able to offset anything other than travel (which I understand I can offset 40p per mile?).

My question is, what happens if I spend £32 on the meal. I assume I will pay tax on £35 (£5 fee plus £30 reimbursement)and offset travel against it. However, can I also offset the other £2 I spent on the meal. Clearly I wouldnt have spent the additional £2 if I wasn't doing the shop, so surely its an expense that I am not being reimbursed for?

Any help appreciated!
    My view would be that the additional expense was your choice to spend so is not counted, otherwise what would be stopping you spending £100 on a meal and claiming that? The company stipulated a limit which you went over at your own cost.
  • samtastic7
    samtastic7 Posts: 1,110 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    well its quiet for me with the Mystery shopping but my 4 merchandising firms are keeping me on my toes.
  • mimi1234
    mimi1234 Posts: 7,949 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    samtastic7 wrote: »