Can't get credit - help needed please!

Options
Hi all,

Not sure if I am posting in the right place so apologies if not! I also apologise if the following post doesn't make much sense... despite being an English student, I am not very literate when it comes to talking about money!!

Here goes. My situation is that I am an English degree student. My only incoming income is from my student loan, child tax credit and child benefit. I recently applied for a student bank account with the Natwest (who I already have a step account with) and have been turned down on the basis that I failed their credit check. Alarm bells ringing, I applied for my credit report (the £2 one) and was suprised when I received it only to find that as well as a number of searches, the only adverse information was a CCJ from 2002 for £481. I have never had a credit card, loan agreement or overdraft and the only monthly payment plan listed on my credit report shows that I have made payments for all but one month (which only went one month into arrears).

I was looking for credit to help tide me over until my loan comes through in April as I only have £800 to last until then and having a 2 year old, know this won't go far! I have applied to and been turned down by Capital One, Vanquis and Barclaycard despite them offering cards to rebuild/establish credit ratings. Does anyone have any advice? I have never had to apply for credit before so it has come as somewhat of a shock to find that I can't get any. Can anyone give me some advice as to how to repair a non existant rating when no one will give me a card to be able to do so? I am on the electoral roll and also have a home phone no as I believe this helps (from reading on here!). I did move home in June of 2006 tho so I realise this is probably working against me.