Withdrawing overpayments from mortgage account before renting out property??!!!???

Options
Hi All,

I’ve been making overpayments on my mortgage for almost 3 years and have approx £18,000 accumulated. My 5 year 5.18% fixed with Nationwide is due to end in spring 2012. I intend to fix again for either 3 or 5 years. I’m also planning to rent my flat out for at least a year next year. The projected new rate of interest will be 4.5-5% including the 1.5% Nationwide hike for renting out property. I'm not keen to remortage at this stage as too much hassle.

I am aware that in addition to paying 40% tax on any profit (if any minus deductables) gained from renting, I also have to pay 40% on the capital portion of my mortgage. I’m scratching my head as to whether to withdraw the overpayments of £18k to maximise the interest/capital ratio. It may equate to peanuts but feel I need to explore this to ensure I maximise the interest earning potential of the £18k capital.

For simplicity, I’ll base my calculations on my current interest rate of 5.18% :

£18k at 5.18% earns £932.4/annum in reduced interest payment on the interest portion of the mortgage. This equates to increasing the capital portion by £932.4 which counts as income that is taxable at 40%. This will cost 372.96. This leaves £559.44 to contribute as further capital to mortgage. (approx 3.1% equivalent interest on 18k). The amount of tax I‘m paying will increase/annum as the capital portions increases.

If I withdraw the money and aim to earn more than 3.1% net from savings, I should be better off . I would deposit the 18k into savings accounts, going for cash isas first to benefit from tax free saving. I’ll also save by not having to pay the £372.96 for the higher capital portion mentioned above . Again this looks like it will be peanuts unless I can get some really good saving rates. i'm wondering whether this would be worth bothering with?

Has anyone been faced with a similar dilemma? I’m I missing a anything?