Lowell Financial

Hi All, newbie here, looking for some advice.

My partner has been receiving numerous calls and letters from Lowell Financial and Red demanding payment or they would start court proceedings. My partner has contacted them and paid £150.00 of the debt but after researching the internet and read posts on here we are now questioning.

My partner is unsure as to what the debt is for, it states O2 was the original company but my partner is unaware of what the debt is.

Because my partner has made a payment does this mean they have accepted the liability and we have no leg to stand on?????

Help!!!!

Comments

• raven83
    raven83 Posts: 3,021
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    i have had dealings with these rouges! firstly do not pay them a penny more and do not give them your card details. then put everything in wrtiing and send recorded delivery and ask for written proof that there actually a debt and a valid credit agreement. do not speak to them over the phone. and lastly if its any reasurring, they will not take you to court i can promise you that!
    Raven. :grinheart:grinheart:grinheart

• writing to them is that this CCA letter that I keep reading about?
  • raven83
    raven83 Posts: 3,021
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Forumite
    yeah they have to have a vaild cca agreement to be able to persue any debts most of the time when you request this it mysteriously vanishes or gets lost, very strange....and the people you speak to in the call centres make me laugh, they tell you something different everytime but as soon as you stand uo to them and say you will be writing to request a cca then they soon get lost for words!
    Raven. :grinheart:grinheart:grinheart

• Thank you I will get the letter sent off asap!
  • suesiq
    suesiq Posts: 12 Forumite
    just picked up the above thread as I am having trouble with these people over an 02 debt which is not mine.