Any advice? Feels like an impossible situation.

OH moved in about 4 months ago. It's me, him and my 3 year old son. I'm not working (I'm a part time student and wanted to be around for DS as well) and DS hasn't started nursery yet but hopefully will after Christmas. We're currently paying out around £50 per week in childminding fees to allow me to go to uni but this should drop after Christmas (if he starts nursery) to £12/£24 per week depending on whether OH can get the regular days off to look after him.

When OH moved in initially the housing benefit/council tax benefit didn't get changed because they were waiting for our updated tax credit information. For some reason I then completely missed a letter and didn't realise that we were now ineligible for council tax benefit so the council tax is the full £130 per month.

In addition to this, last year at uni my funding didn't actually come through in time, so I am having to pay back last year's fees at around £95 a month. When we agreed this we thought we were able to afford it, but hadn't factored in the extra council tax. Anyway, with this and the council tax, things would have been tight, but just about doable. My funding looks like it's on track for this year which is a relief.

Then OH's car broke down :( It's not only an expensive repair, it looks as though it's unlikely to pass the MOT due soon, and all in all it's going to be cheaper to buy another used car. But we don't have the money to do this, either. So now he can't get to work - his workplace is in a fairly rural area, and being night work, there is no public transport which goes there at these times. At the moment he's getting lifts but this isn't possible long term. Cycling would be an absolute last resort as it would take about 2 hours and I am worried it wouldn't be safe in the coming winter months in the dark.