Anyone ever had clothes altered by a tailor?

Hi :)

I've lost a bit of weight recently ......I work in healthcare, and have been told I'll have to pay to replace my too big uniforms myself....so instead of buying new, was just wondering if anyone knows how much it would cost to have them altered? I know it'll probably differ around the country, but approx....(I'm in the midlands area). It'd be tunics taking in, and trousers. Hopefully someone can give me a bit of an idea? Thanks :)

Comments

• Quackers1
    Quackers1 Posts: 107 Forumite
    I've had clothes altered. To find someone try local sewing shops or recommendations from friends etc. The lady we use is reasonably priced and the work was excellent.
  • Tiddlywinks
    Tiddlywinks Posts: 5,777 Forumite
    I've been Money Tipped!
    edited 30 July 2011 at 3:04PM
    How many sizes down will the items need to go?

What sort of uniform is it? Suit, overalls...?

If it's more than a couple of dress sizes down then that will require a lot of work to reset shoulders, but etc. It will not be simply taking in side seams.

The alterations may be as expensive as buying replacements to be honest.

Oh, and... congrats on your weight loss :T.
    :hello:
  • LolitaLove
    LolitaLove Posts: 273 Forumite
    edited 30 July 2011 at 4:11PM
    How many sizes down will the items need to go?

What sort of uniform is it? Suit, overalls...?

If it's more than a couple of dress sizes down then that will require a lot of work to reset shoulders, but etc. It will not be simply taking in side seams.

The alterations may be as expensive as buying replacements to be honest.

Oh, and... congrats on your weight loss :T.

Thanks for your reply:)
    The uniforms are tunics, and trousers...horrible polyester type material. The trousers are huge especially, and the tunics have lots of pleats, e.g at the back, for ease of movement when moving and handling etc.