Starting an on-line shop

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Boost Your Income
10 replies 1.1K views
ste1200ste1200 Forumite
157 Posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Boost Your Income
Hi, I am very interested in starting an online shop selling vinyl. I have been collecting vinyl for over 10 years now and have a collection which I want to start selling on my own website. I also have sources where I can buy in bulk and split down for re-sale.

I have found a suitable website host, but I want to do it properly and legally.

I just don't really know where to start with this. Do I need to register self employed ? I am currently employed but want to do this as a sideline. Do I need to register a company name ?

I wont be employing anyone, and don't need a wage from it. Do I need to pay tax on the profit ? I don't want to launch this site yet as I'm not sure how legal it is for me to make money from this without informing anybody.

Any advice would be great.

Thanks

Replies

• pinkteapotpinkteapot Forumite
    7.6K Posts
    Tenth Anniversary 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭
    In terms of the tax side:

You have to tell HMRC within 3 months of starting to trade. You can register as a sole trader - all you do is phone them up and tell them. They will ask for the company name which can be a proper company name or just your own name.

You will continue to just pay tax PAYE on your employed earnings. You will be sent a tax return each April which you have to fill in. You'll fill in details of your employment income in the 'Employment' section from your P60, and then you fill in your online shop finances on the 'Self-Employed' page.

You will pay tax on any profit made. Your tax-free allowance is already used up in your main employment so you pay tax at the highest rate you currently pay on all profits from the other business.