1st Time Buyer

Options
I wonder whether someone could help me.

I have a full-time job earning around £34k however I am on a temporary contract which ends in March 2012.

I have always rented in the past but I am now thinking of buying.

I could scrape together a deposit of say £11k (some of which would be my savings and some has come from my parents) but I know a mortgage will be difficult to find particulalry as I have a temporary contract. Do you think I would get a mortgage if my parents acted as guarantor?

I got my credit report from Equifax today and it looks good - except my electoral roll info is out of date - I am currently working on getting this updated. I noticed however that my gas and electricity payments are not on there and neither is my previous credit card. Is it possible that these could be ammended? And if so would it help my credit score?

Thanks for your help in advance - I am a complete novice so help is definitely needed!

Comments

• allybee101
    allybee101 Posts: 736 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Hi,
    I am going through the process of buying my first place (shared ownership so slightly different, and now waiting to hear if I've been accepted by the housing trust).

I had an appointment with an Independent Financial Advisor (IFA) (part of the process for S-O) and they did ask about work. Apparently the usual situation is for the mortgage provider to ask for P60 and 3 months wage slips. Some ask for bank statements too.

There was no question about fixed term contracts but I imagine that you would be advised to tell them about your employment status.
    They might consider it a risk as your contract is so short. Are you likely to get it extended or go straight into another job? Would a new job keep you in the same area or would a relocation be likely (in which case is buying somewhere going to restrict your job prospects)?