Help please!

Options
Hi all,

I'm having a bit of a nightmare and wondered if anyone could help!

I have been working in IT for the past 11 years (I am 34 years old), my recent job was working as an IT Manager for a well known bank, unfortunately I got made redundant back in January, since then I have been looking for work and although recruiters are telling me that I have excellent experience and I have been to nearly 6 interview, i still haven't got a job (The feedback i'm getting from employer is that i was a good candidate, but someone else fitted the role slightly better).

Nearly 7 months on (I have a mortgage and wife is pregnant:)) I am being forced to look at other avenues, one of them being IT recruitment. I am aware that recruiters can make decent money and I was thinking that perhaps if I work in recruitment for a few years, I could then use my contact and experience to open my own agency.

I think because I am getting know where with IT jobs, I'm talking myself out of getting a job in IT and in another sector such as recruitment. I recently went for a final interview with a recruitment agency, they seem to like me, and if i do get it do you think i'm making a huge mistake coming out of IT and going into recruitment? I am thinking if I spend the next few years learning the business of recruitment I will be able to build up my own business??

I think I have nearly hit my peak in IT (salary wise) so perhaps a switch now would be good???

I'm feeling terribly confused!! :think:

Comments

• ESKIMO
    ESKIMO Posts: 254 Forumite
    Options
    How many agencies have you signed up to? You don't have to limit your self to one. Exploit them! - Make sure it's not them exploiting you. Get all of them to do all the searching for you.