how to remove the smell of ...

hi i was wondering if anybody had any tips of getting rid of the smell of cat wee out of clothes and handbags without forking out the money for dry cleaners =) any advice would be appriciated
:santa2: :rudolf:
:D

Replies

• kymbogskymbogs Forumite
    538 Posts
    White vinegar, brilliant for smells!
    :heartpulsSpoiling my two baby girls with love - it's free and it's fun!:heartpuls

I'm not very good at succinct. Why say something in 10 words when 100 will do?
  • soupdragon10soupdragon10 Forumite
    967 Posts
    Tenth Anniversary 500 Posts Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭
    For anything washable I would use biological washing liquid on a low temperature setting. For other things I've carefully wiped with cool soapy water (I use Ecover w/up liquid). It does take a while, one of my little dears decided to go on a pair of fur lined suede boots. That took a while.

Vinegar is also good (I've used this on non leather handbags) but sparingly using soapy water has always worked for me.

You can add a few drops of essential oil to give the water a gentle perfume if you want to.
  • sb44sb44 Forumite
    5.2K Posts
    I've been Money Tipped!
    I bought a smaller bottle of this below from Pets At Home a couple of years ago and it has just ran out.

I need to buy some more so I am glad I saw your post as you reminded me to get another bottle.

It leaves a slight smell which doesn't last long, smells a bit like those vinyl toy bones you buy for the dog. ;)

41ZC380PDZL._SS500_.jpg
  • kayandy_2kayandy_2 Forumite
    657 Posts
    thanks guys ive tried washing it in the washing machine its been in 3 times but that seems to have gotten rid of the smell a little bit but not much ill give some of the suggestions ago thanyou =)
    :santa2: :rudolf:
    :D
  • Waffle_OnWaffle_On Forumite
    408 Posts
    I've been Money Tipped!
    kayandy wrote: »