PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Party food AND special dietary requirements

Options
We're having a party on Friday night and I'll be making food. People will come straight from work so it needs to be more substantial than crisps, but still party food. One of the guests is allergic to diary, potatoes and tomatoes. Any ideas for party food we can all eat, to minimise cooking/prep time, and still suitable for her? I had been planning a big dish of potato wedges, salsa, pizza and cakes but some of those are unsuitable or need major adaptation. I've never done dairy free cooking before. Thanks.

Comments

• Paige
    Paige Posts: 266 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    How about a huge seletion of raw veg eg, cuc, carrots, pepper sticks, celery, cauliflower florets and some breadsticks and warm pitta bread to go with the salsa. This is tasty and quick - no cooking. If you have time marinate some sliced economy chicken breast in garlic, chilli , veg oil and soy sauce (maybe a touch of runny honey) skewer them on wooden BBQ skewers and grill, bake or pan fry them. Serve hot or cold. Paige X
  • suzywoozy_3
    Options
    cakes are easy dairy free, use a dairy free spread instead of marg (pure, vitaelite etc) and if you need to add milk just use soya, you wont notice the difference.

You could make a dairy free dip (as the salsa will be out) using a mix of soya yohurt and mayo (most are dairy free but you should check the label) and some curry paste/powder, and as Paige says do veggies and pitta bread.
  • lightisfading
    Options