Taking out an additional pension

Newbie here, I have had a look through a good number of threads and can’t see a similar question having been posed, apologies in advance if I have missed one.

A bit about my background first:

I am 34 years old with 2 children.
I have a good company pension, with the company paying in 15%, I top up an addl 2.5%.
I have no mortgage
I have savings in excess of £100k (cash)
I fully exercise my ISAs
My incomings exceed my outgoings by approximately £1000 per month

I would like to put some of this money aside, so as to make my old age more comfortable than it might otherwise be, although I think that my company pension should be more than adequate (not sure of the fund amount, it is probably in the region of 75k at present).

I have been thinking about opening an additional pension, possibly to enable an earlier retirement than might otherwise be. Would this be a sensible course of action?

Ideally I would like the ability to vary payments if need be (you never know what is around the corner!) and would like any fund to be reassigned to my partner and/or children in the event of anything untoward happening to me.

I also have a couple of smallish (20k total) funds from previous employers that I might want to roll-in with this.

Would appreciate any advice as to a suitable vehicle for achieving the above goals.

Comments

• if i was you i would not get another pension.

75k pa and 100k in cash is better than 100k pa and no savings get to 65 or sooner and take long hoildays :p :cool:

oh one more thing thats an odd pension mine is i put ion 6% and my work puts in the same up to 6%
  • dunstonh
    dunstonh Posts: 116,369 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    I have been thinking about opening an additional pension, possibly to enable an earlier retirement than might otherwise be. Would this be a sensible course of action?