Another first timer would like some advice.

Options
I've been starting to think about how to start my retirement planning, and need a few opinions as my financial knowledge is almost non-existent!

I'm 31, in full time employment in the NHS, earning approx. 35k. I'm a member of the 1995 section of the pension scheme, and have saved about 10k in a cash ISA as a deposit for hopefully buying a flat in the next couple of years. I was a student until I was 27, so I'm a few years behind in saving/pensions.

I want to have a comfortable retirement and so I've been looking into my options for increasing my income in retirement and as I see it I have 3 options

1) Buying NHS Additional Pension.
I put some numbers into the calculator on the NHS Pensions website and to give me an extra £1k a year I'd have to contribute about 8-9k in total. I'm obviously hoping I wouldn't fall off my perch only a few years after retirement but this basically means I'd have to live at least 9 years after I retired to make this worthwhile? Whilst my mum's side of the family have all lasted into their 80's and 90's, my father died at 69, so this is something I think about even though its a bit morbid. So what is the benefit of buying Additional Pension?

2) Making Additional Voluntary Contributions through my NHS Pension

3) Investing in a Stocks and Shares ISA.

Options 2 and 3 I guess are similar as I suppose they are investing in similar sorts of areas? The two NHS AVC options are with the PRU and Standard Life and they seem to have a wide range of fund options that they offer through the NHS AVC scheme. I guess with doing it the ISA way though I could access the money more quickly/in a lump sum e.g. if I fell ill and needed to get to it?

I can probably afford to put away at least £200 pounds a month for my retirement (still trying to save a bit more for the deposit, plus rainy day money at the moment so this may go up in the next few years). So what should I be doing with my money?!