Transfer from LGPS to TPS?

Options
Quick question for those in the know

I have received confirmation of my current benefits from my LGPS - £46500

I now have the option to transfer it to the TPS.

Given that both schemes are similar in terms of benefits and both likely to be going through similar changes in the not to distant future, would it be advisable to leave the existing amount in the LGPS and start fresh with the TPS or consolidate the two?

Comments

• Mature_Lady_2
    Options
    You are right to check it all out, I did it the other way around and 'lost' a few years despite being told it was like for like plus the pension age has now changed for new entrants to the TP asI had colleagues who wanted to transfer back.
  • Loughton_Monkey
    Options
    Forgive me, but I have no knowledge of the specific schemes to which you refer.

But talking in general terms, imagine I had 30 years entitlement with a Final Salary Scheme with Enployer A. Then I go to Employer B with a similar FS scheme, where I stay for another 10 years.

In round figures, I would get total pension of 30/60ths of my salary 10 years ago - but uprated by RPI (or CPI) for the 10 years. Company B would pay me 10/60th of my actual Final Salary. Hence I am receiving the 'full' 40/60ths of 'salary' but not necessarily 40/60ths of your final salary.

Instead, if Company B gave you 30 years 'back years' by transferring money from Company B, you would get a true 40/60ths of your actual Final Salary.

Now you don't have to be Einstein, then to work out the following:

1. If your actual Final Salary exceeds what your salary was 10 years ago (inflated for 10 years), then you are better off.

2. If your actual Final Salary is lower than what your salary was 10 years ago (inflated for 10 years), then you will be worse off.

Of course all of this is speculation, since I guess you have no firm idea on how your salary is going to move, relative to inflation.