Forum Home» Money Saving Polls

'How much should petrol cost?' Poll discussion - Page 4

New Post Advanced Search
Important update! We have recently reviewed and updated our Forum Rules and FAQs. Please take the time to familiarise yourself with the latest version.

'How much should petrol cost?' Poll discussion

edited 30 November -1 at 12:00AM in Money Saving Polls
144 replies 17.2K views

Replies

• I voted for 80p a litre, but really would be happy up to £1. I need a car for work as I work in construction and the sites I work on are rarely within reach of buses & trains and I am lucky to get some money towards car running costs. I know that many others are not so lucky. I do feel that the tax on fuel & VAT should be used to fund the road network, viable alternatives and subsidise public transport for all, but I'm sure that is not where my 80 odd pence a litre goes! Therefore I am not happy to pay. But pay I must. I just try to keep my car as tuned and serviced as possible and to drive as carefully as I can.
    I agree with those who suggest increasing the cost of/tax on things like alcohol as non essentials
  • stevemcolstevemcol Forumite
    1.7K posts
    Not a popular vote but I think the price is about right. I went for £1.40.
    Setting the price high reminds us that petrol won't last forever and that it is damaging to the environment.
    As Martin points out, the tax burden will have to go elsewhere, or further cuts will have to be made.
    Apparently I'm 10 years old on MSE. Happy birthday to me...etc
  • edited 8 March 2011 at 9:54PM
    Bozz28Bozz28 Forumite
    1 posts
    edited 8 March 2011 at 9:54PM
    How much would petrol cost if it had just followed the average cost of living in the uk...say over last 10 years?

I voted for 90p, you know that even if it was, it would be back up over a quid by next year.

I'd stick income tax up a bit to compensate (and combine NI for a single deduction).