Pebsion novice in final salary scheme.

I am in a final salary scheme paying 6% contributions. I beleieve i can contribute up to 9%into another pension vehicle(avc?) through my employer.

This year i have breached the 40% pay barrier and as the barrier is falling to approx £42k come april i am hearing talk at work of peolpe taking up additional pension as they can claim tax back.

I am no expert but could anyone answer the following.

1. I am normally a standard rate tax payer but have breached the 40% tax threshold due to overtime/bonuses etc. If i were to be contributing to an AVC can i claim 40% tax relief or will it just be 20?% as i am normally just a basic rate tax payer. Its this 'breaching' late on in the pay year when i earn more that pushes me into 40% tax.

2. How is tax claimed back on avc contributions? self assessment?

3. maths.....

hypothetically if i payed in £60k(over many years) my fund would be £100k.
You could say that paying in £55k my fund would be £100k taking in account for interest and bonuses on the avc.
i can take 25% of the avc fund at maturity so that equates to £25K. My pension of £75k to buy an anuity has therefore cost me as little as £30k over the term (55k contributions - £25k cash draw off).

do i make sense?

The Novice - thanks

Arthur

Comments

• When paying into a pension, you normally get 20% tax relief. You then pay 20% tax on the pension when you finally draw it. But taking the tax free 25% lump sum means that some of that tax relief stays in your pocket. And so investing extra into a pension is usually worthwhile, provided you are happy receiving it as income (and a 25% lump sum) at retirement.

If you are paying tax at 40%, then pension contributions become extremely tax efficient, provided you will only pay basic tax relief on the pension when you take it.