The MSE Forum will be undergoing some maintenance this evening. As a result, some users may experience temporary performance issues. Please use the Site Feedback board to report anything major. Thank you for your patience.

endowment liable for tax?

my partner's terrible endowment policy has just matured, and they say that because she was unable to increase the payments, that the policy will be taxable ?

any ideas, she's earning just over 40% threshold, and this payment is about 15k...

also on her self assesment last year we recorded a loss on her buytolet, would we be allowed to offset this loss ?

i'm very confused, so comments welcome - many thanks, Will

Comments

• GuidoT
    GuidoT Posts: 198 Forumite
    edited 31 January 2011 at 9:55PM
    I am no expert but the only part that would be taxable is the growth, the sum you pay in per month is not taxed - you have of course been taxed on this already.

You cannot offset income losses on properties against other income.

I think there is a rule about how long you hold the policy and then it becomes tax free - I have now posted a link below.

I cannot imagine there would be much tax to pay at all, if it has performed poorly.
  • Should be a qualifying life policy so proceeds are free of UK Income and Cap Gains Tax.
    I am a Mortgage Advisor
    You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Advisor, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice.
  • thats what i thought, but we have a letter from countrywide saying that as we didn't increase the ammount payable on the policy it is no longer valid, and so they have notified hmrc that it is liable.

i think regardless i will need professional advice on this, as w actually have 3 of these maturing in the same tax year. but i'd like to understand it better...